Sigtuna DAR 3 - Direct Recording

Original Author(s): Miki Azuma

Select the NCC heading into which you want to record, and start to record the narration reading from the text on the screen. You can use the shortcut keys to "Record", "Stop" and "Move around one or more NCC items in the NCC" in order to avoid recording the noise of clicking mouse if the computer, keyboard and mouse are next to the microphone. The "Overwrite" recording mode is the default mode and is used for most recording.

The Control Buttons on the Screen
The Control Buttons on the Screen

The following shortcut keys are very helpful for recording:

Record CTRL+SPACE
Move event during recording (Next Text) CTRL+T
Stop SPACE
Next event CTRL+RIGHT ARROW KEY
Previous event CTRL+LEFT ARROW KEY
Next NCC item DOWN ARROW KEY
Previous NCC item UP ARROW KEY
Reset user time to zero CTRL+F3
Go to user time zero CTRL+0(zero)

Figure 7-11 The 'Next text' button
Figure 7-11 The 'Next text' button

Please be aware that some keyboards may be noisy. It may be necessary to use a keyboard that is less noisy for recording.

When an error is made during recording, it can be corrected at the time that it is made. There are three recording mode options in Sigtuna DAR 3, "Overwrite", "Insert" and, "Replace to 0". "Overwrite", which is the default setting, can be used for most continuous recording and retakes. "Insert" allows you to insert audio into existing audio, and "Replace to 0" allows you to replace existing audio with newly recorded audio regardless of any difference in the length of the original recorded audio and the retake.

"Replace to 0" mode is used with the "User Defined Time Counter". After a mistake has occurred, click the 'Reset User Time to Zero' button and then rewind to the place in the audio for the retake, that is, before the point where the mistake occurred. You can then make a 'punch-in' edit that will replace the audio that is between the start point of the retake and point at which "User Defined Time Counter" was set to time zero. It does not matter if the newly recorded audio is longer or shorter than the original audio which was there - this recording mode will always replace all of the audio between the start of the retake and user time zero. Once the edit has been made, you should set the recording mode back to "Overwrite". This recording mode can be very useful, but is used for specific purposes.

Figure 7-12 'Replace to 0' mode
Figure 7-12 'Replace to 0' mode

[toc hidden:1]

See also

DAISYpedia Categories: 


This page was last edited by PVerma on Friday, August 6, 2010 10:59
Text is available under the terms of the DAISY Consortium Intellectual Property Policy, Licensing, and Working Group Process.